Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2016-2017

updated: 12.12.2019

Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2016-2017

A ceremony awarding fellowships and certificates to new and continuing Edmond J. Safra Center fellows took place on January 3, 2017. 


TAU President, Prof. Joseph Klafter, as well as the Dean of Life Sciences, Prof. Daniel Chamovitz, Dean of Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Ehud Grossman, Vice Dean of The Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Karen Avraham, Head of Computer Science School, Prof. Hanoch Levy and Vice President for Resource Development, Mr. Amos Elad, attended the event. The guest of honor was Mr. Ariel Greenberg, the Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation representative in Israel. A capacity audience of fellows, their families and their advisors attended the event which took place in Dach Hall in the Exact Sciences Faculty. 


Prof. Shamir presented the Edmond J. Safra Center Excellent Research Student Prize to two students. The prize is awarded annually to two research students with outstanding scientific records. This year the prizes were awarded to EJSCB PhD fellows Alon Diament (Tuller's group, Engineering) and Yael Steuerman (Gat-Viks' group, Life Sciences). 


A record number of fifty six fellowships and awards were given to excellent bioinformatics students in all degrees, including undergraduate and graduate students. Edmond J. Safra PhD Fellow Elior Rahmani (E. Halperin's group, Life Sciences), gave an exciting talk titled "Does the genetics of our parents determine our fate?"



Pictures from the event >


Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>