Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2015-2016

updated: 02.07.2018

Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2015-2016

A ceremony awarding fellowships and certificates to new and continuing Edmond J. Safra Center fellows took place on December 23, 2015.


TAU President, Prof. Joseph Klafter, as well as the Dean of Life Sciences, Prof. Daniel Chamovitz, Dean of Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Ehud Grossman, Dean of Exact Sciences, Prof. Michael Krivelevich, Vice Dean of The Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Karen Avraham and Mr. Amos Elad, Vice President for Resource Development, attended the event. The guest of honor was Mr. Juir Torenheim, the Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation representative in Israel. A capacity audience of fellows, their families and their advisors attended the event, which took place at the new TAU Senate Hall.


Prof. Ron Shamir, the head of the Edmond J. Safra Center, opened the ceremony by summarizing the Center's progress to date. Prof. Klafter, Mr. Torenheim and Profs. Chamovitz and Avraham greeted the audience.


Prof. Shamir presented the Edmond J. Safra Center Excellent Research Student Prize to two students. The prize, which was initiated last year, is awarded annually to one or two excellent research students based on their scientific records. This year the prizes were awarded to EJSCB PhD fellows Yael Baran (E. Halperin's group, Computer Science) and Shachar Kaufman (Rosset's group, Statistics).


Fellowships and awards were given to excellent bioinformatics students in all degrees, including undergraduate and graduate students. Edmond J. Safra PhD Fellow Alon Diament (Tuller's group, Faculty of Engineering), gave an exciting talk titled "Research of the genome in 3D". 



Pictures from the event >


Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>