Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2014-2015

updated: 05.07.2018

A ceremony awarding fellowships and certificates to new and continuing Edmond J. Safra Center fellows and celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Center took place on December 31, 2014. TAU President, Prof. Joseph Klafter, as well as the Dean of Life Sciences, Prof. Daniel Chamovitz and Dean of Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Ehud Grossman, attended the event. The guests of honor were Mr. Juir Torenheim and Mr. Ariel Greenberg, the Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation representatives in Israel. A capacity audience of fellows, their families and their advisors attended the event. 


Prof. Ron Shamir, the head of the Edmond J. Safra Center, opened the ceremony by summarizing the Center's progress to date and reported the excellent news that this year Yad Hanadiv Foundation and the Edmond J. Safra Foundation graciously pledged joint continued support of the Center for the next five years. Prof. Klafter, Mr. Torenheim, and Prof. Chamovitz greeted the audience. 


Prof. Shamir presented a new prize, called "The Edmond J. Safra Center Excellent Research Student Prize", which will be awarded annually to 1-2 excellent research students. This year's prizes were awarded by Prof. Shamir to E. J. Safra PhD fellows Eli Levy Karin (Prof. Pupko's lab, Life Sciences) and David (Didi) Amar (Prof. Shamir's lab, Computer Science). 


Fellowships and awards were given to excellent bioinformatics students in all degrees, including undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral students. Former Edmond J. Safra PhD Fellow Dr. Igor Ulitsky, now a faculty member of the Weizmann Institute, gave an exciting talk titled "The Intergenic Wilderness and Long Noncoding RNAs". 

Pictures from the event can be found here.




Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>