Edmond J. Safra Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2021-2022

updated: 26.12.2021

Edmond J. Safra Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2021-2022
Edmond J. Safra Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2021-2022

A ceremony awarding fellowships and certificates to new and continuing Edmond J. Safra Center fellows took place on December 22, 2021 at TAU.


The event was attended by TAU President, Prof. Ariel Porat, as well as Dean of the Faculty of Exact Sciences, Prof. Tova Milo, Dean of Faculty of Life Sciences, Prof. Abdussalam Azem, Vice Dean of Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Karen Avraham, Head of the School of Computer Science, Prof. Sivan Toledo and Head of the Shmunis School for Cancer Research, Prof. Tal Pupko. The guest of honor was Mr. Ariel Greenberg, the Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation representative in Israel.  Mr. Greenberg greeted the students. Prof. Ron Shamir, the head of the Center, summarized the Center's activities and status. Profs. Porat and Avraham greeted the audience.


This year's winners of the Edmond J. Safra Center excellent Research Student Prize were PhD fellows Talia Kustin (Stern lab, Life Sciences) and Eldad Shulman (Elkon lab, Medicine).  The prize is awarded annually to one or two research students with outstanding scientific record.


Edmond J. Safra PhD Fellow Talia Kustin, gave an engaging talk titled "Will the Corona vaccine protect us from variants?"


Seventy six fellowships were awarded to excellent bioinformatics students in all degrees, including undergraduates, graduates and postdocs.


During musical breaks in the certificates distribution, Yael Sieradzki, a singer, and Lior Balachnes, pianist (both of the School of Music at TAU) performed two lovely songs. ​


For pictures from the event, click here.



Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>