Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2013-2014

updated: 04.07.2018

Annual Fellowship Ceremony 2013-2014

A ceremony awarding fellowships and certificates to all new and continuing Edmond J. Safra Center fellows took place on December 30, 2013. 

TAU President, Prof. Joseph Klafter, as well as the Dean of Exact Sciences, Prof. Yaron Oz, the Dean of Life Sciences, Prof. Moshe Mevarech and Dean of Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Yoseph Mekori, attended the event. 
The guests of honor were Mr. Ezra Marcos, CEO of the Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation and Mr. Ariel Greenberg, the Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation representative in Israel.

A capacity audience of fellows, their families and their advisors attended the event. 
Prof. Ron Shamir, the head of the Edmond J. Safra Center, opened the ceremony by summarizing the Center progress to date. He mentioned the inauguration of the Edmond J. Safra Center for Bioinformatics in June 2012 by Mrs. Lily Safra, who founded the Center in honor of her late husband and devoted philanthropist Mr. Edmond J. Safra. Prof. Klafter, Mr. Greenberg, and the Profs. Oz, Mevarech and Mekori, greeted the audience. 

Fellowships and awards were given to excellent bioinformatics students in all degrees, including undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral students. A record number of 49 fellowships and awards were given this year. 

Former Edmond J. Safra PhD Fellow Dr. Keren Lasker gave an exciting talk titled "Structural Biology: A three-dimensional view into the molecular machines that define life". 

Pictures from the event can be found below. 



Pictures from the event >


Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>